gibbons coxawardWilliam M. Cox Award Recipient Clifford Gibbons (center) is congratulated
by NJILGA immediate Past President, Ron Cucchiaro
and 2nd Vice President, Michele Donato


cox award2F. Clifford Gibbons, Esq. of Princeton, and of counsel to Dolan and Dolan, PA. in Newton has received the William M. Cox Award, which was presented at NJILGA’s Annual Meeting and Social Event in November in Atlantic City. The Cox Award was established to recognize an attorney or judge who has become distinguished in the field of land use law.


cox award1

Mr. Cox, author of New Jersey Zoning and Land Use Administration, general counsel emeritus to the New Jersey Planning Officials and a member, since its inception, of the Municipal Land Use Law Drafting Committee, was a renowned land use law authority who gave selflessly of himself to local planning and zoning boards, as well as fellow practitioners.


Mr. Gibbons received his B.A. from Colgate University and his J.D. from Penn State University, Dickinson School of Law. He is admitted to the New Jersey Bar Association, the U.S. District Court, District of New Jersey; U.S. Court of Appeals, Third Circuit; and U.S. Supreme Court. He is also a member of the Princeton Bar Association, Sussex County Bar Association, Mercer County Bar Association, New Jersey Institute of Local Government Attorneys.

Mr. Gibbons is also an Associate Counsel of the New Jersey League of Municipalities; an Assistant Counsel, New Jersey Planning Officials; Co-Author, New Jersey Casebook on Zoning, Planning and Land Use Law, Gann Law Books; Recipient of the American Jurisprudence Award, Banking Law and Regulation (1988); Recipient, New Jersey Planning Officials Achievement in Planning Award (2005); an Adjunct Instructor, Rutgers University, Division of Local Government Services; and a past Trustee of The Hun School of Princeton.

Past recipients of this award have been William M. Cox, Robert Rogers, Thomas W. Dunn, Glenn C. Kienz, Brian Burns, Eugene D. Serpentelli, Reginald Stanton, Stuart Koenig, Michele R. Donato and Jonathan E. Drill.